Home > Hardware, Information > Tablet gaming – Cyclone Voyager 7

Tablet gaming – Cyclone Voyager 7

After my daughter received a Nexus 7 for Christmas, and my wife received a Kindle Fire, I was quite excited to see how good tablet PCs actually were for playing games. I rarely have much time to play games on my PC or games consoles, so tend to resort to stealing some gaming time at lunchbreaks or playing games on my phone. I’m more of a mid-core gamer than casual gamer, so decided a tablet would be a better option for me than a phone for playing games. Frugal as I am, I looked around for something inexpensive, but reasonably powered. I finally settled on the Sumvision Cyclone Voyager, a seven inch tablet PC.

Not as powerful as the Nexus 7 with its Tegra 3 processor, the Cyclone Voyager does boast a dual core Arm 9 processor and a quad core Mali graphics processor. It has 16GB of storage and 1GB of RAM. The tablet has a mini SD card slot and also a mini HDMI port for connection to a TV or monitor. A front facing camera allows video conferencing with Google Hangouts or Skype. One downside is a fairly low 800px x 400px resolution screen. The big upside, however, is the price – only £79.99! There is also a 10 inch version with the same specification retailing around £140, and a forthcoming 8 inch version too.

So far I’m very impressed by the tablet. It works well, responds quickly and smoothly, and runs most of the apps and games I’ve tried so far. Battery life is quite good – probably about 5 hours before charging (depending on what you’re doing).

The Sumvision Cyclone Voyager runs 3D games such as Dead Trigger very well. Indeed, plugging the tablet into the TV allows you to use the tablet as a controller whilst viewing the game on the big screen. This works really well, and the games really look like they’re running on a dedicated games console.

More basic games such as Angry Birds, Fruit Ninja, etc work well too, and I’ve only had one game fail to run, which was a 3D racing game.

At the request of Neil Waterman (see comments), I downloaded Epic Citadel and ran the benchmarks – here’s the results which were much better than I expected:

Epic Citadel benchmarks

Epic Citadel benchmarks

  1. neil waterman
    February 1, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    could you download and try the citadel demo and try the benchmark test and then post the results please

    • colinmaxwell
      February 1, 2013 at 6:48 pm

      Hi Neil – as requested. Benchmarks posted. I was quite impressed by the Voyager’s performance on Epic Citadel!

      • neil waterman
        February 1, 2013 at 7:06 pm

        Thank you, for the price of the tablet i’m surprised by the results

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

